Look Great, Feel Great

Hey, hey, today I felt lame so I did my makeup and wore my new favorite pair of shoesies. There’s nothing like playing a little dress up to get you cheered up.

photo (2)

Head to toe:

Green sweater: purchased at H&M, love because its super comfy cozy and its casual but cute so you look great effortlessly. PLUS its the exact color of my eyes so that rocks.

Black studded belt: purchased at H&M for a mere $1.50

Mid-rise grey cropped pants: purchased at Target for $5.00. One of my favorite buys; they go with everything. You can’t see in the picture but there’s lil zippers on the bottom of the sides of the sides of the pant legs giving them a little extra edge. The higher rise is perfect for the semi-cropped sweater.

Black Dr. Martens: aka my new favorite shoes I’m literally actually in love. They’re simple, classic, versatile, sturdy, comfortable (no seriously I feel like I’m walking on clouds) and overall just perfection. If boots are your thing, get. a. pair. You won’t regret it.

I’m a strong believer in fashion as an expression of self and a reflection of who you are. I also think that what you wear and how you present yourself can positively or negatively affect your mood and confidence. I mean think about it, when you wear your favorite outfit, the sweater or shoes or jacket you own that you love the most, don’t you feel amazing? You feel great in what you’re wearing and you therefore feel great about yourself. You feel confident and powerful and happy and unstoppable. Your day ends up being amazing, and the rare times it doesn’t, at least you looked fabulous. Meanwhile, the day you’re out of laundry and go out wearing granny panties and that pair of jeans that just don’t fit the same anymore, you feel frumpy and self-conscious. Lots of people I know have the mentality that the effort it takes to put together an outfit and apply makeup is too time-consuming, unnecessary, and maybe even a little vain.  But the truth is, I want to feel great every day. I want to feel confident and powerful. So I’m going to wear something that I think looks great, that I feel confident in. Does that make me vain? That I’m dressing to make myself happy? That spending time in the morning putting on make-up makes me feel pampered and relaxed? I don’t think so. And if you feel confident and happy in sweats and no make-up then go for it. What you wear should make you happy and confident about being in your own skin. And who doesn’t want that?

I don’t know, maybe that’s just me. But maybe if how I dress can boost my mood,  the way you dress can improve yours too. Hoping all you cool cats looked and felt fabulous today.

– Jade Alexandra

3 thoughts on “Look Great, Feel Great

Leave a Reply

