Happy to be Home

Wow, so one day back to school and I’m already missing blog posts. This is definitely going to say a lot about me as the semester wears on. I basically have had nothing going on these first few days…you know, except for catching up with all my friends who I haven’t seen in weeks or months. In terms of homework, a little light reading, but that’s all. I’ve only just dipped my pinky toe into this semester and I’m already slacking on this blog deal. I can already tell this semester is going to be a doozy so I beg of you ahead of time, bear with me. It might get a little crazy over here.

But despite the impending craziness….HOLY CRAP I’M SO HAPPY TO BE BACK! Apart from my first day of classes today which were slightly stressful, I literally could not be happier. I’m happy to be back on my beautiful campus with this amazing summer weather and in my own space in my cute little dorm and seeing all the different friendly faces around again. I’m happy to be back with the girls in my hall and seeing all my friends who are coming back from Europe and catching up with everyone. I’m happy to be reunited with my roommate. Gosh, I barely made it through the three weeks without her; I don’t even know how we managed to be apart all summer last year. Everyone else returning to campus is stoked to be here too so right now it’s just such a great atmosphere; everyone is so excited to see their friends again and be back soaking up this San Diego sun. It just feels really good. I’m super lucky to go to a school where the community is so tight-knit and overall awesome. Like I even feel happy to see just familiar faces, even if I don’t know the name of the person who they belong to. I just feel back in my element. Back at home.

Honestly though, my homecoming couldn’t have gone much better than it did. Luckily, we didn’t have class yesterday  so I had a whole day to move in, unpack, clean, get settled, and get ready for this spring semester. All day I just hung out, laid back, and caught up with so many people I was so excited to see. And the best part is that the different friend groups and social dynamics all seem to be going really well so far. I don’t know if it’s just the initial newness and excitement of everything that’s making everything fine right now, but regardless, I’ll take it while I can and we’ll see how things go. Unfortunately, my evening didn’t start out as well as I’d hoped, but it was a slight hiccup in a night that ended oh so perfectly. I GOT MY HAPPY HUGGY KISSY HOMECOMING. EMPHASIS ON KISSY! Like lots and lots of emphasis on kissy. And there was definitely some cute, cuddly’s in there too. AAaah!

Sorry, excuse my inner teenage girl, I’m just really happy. Which is a serious improvement to how I was feeling the last week of break, aka not so hot. Not to mention being a little down in the dumps, I was getting so nervous about the upcoming semester. I was seriously so terrified that my relationships with certain people would have changed over the time and distance apart of the break. But my wonderful experiences over the past 48 hours have proved my fears to be completely wrong and totally silly. Thank. GOD. I don’t know what I would have done.

So yeah, so far, things are looking up. Granted, it’s only been two days since being back, but hopefully I can ride this wave of happiness and good fortune into the new semester for a while. I’m definitely not ready for the stress and drama and craziness quite yet. I want this good feeling to last as long as possible. And these good times with my good friends.  And those better than good kisses and cuddles? Yeah, they can stick along for the ride too.

– Jade Alexandra

Leave a Reply

